2018 off to a flying start

February is almost over already and I’ve just been looking through the photos I’ve taken since the start of the year. Evidence points to me having hibernated for the last two months. It seems I’ve only emerged to eat, and take photos of Cassie being cute.

We’ve just had our first bank holiday of the year, Family Day, so Gethin and I have had two whole days together. Now, you’d assume that we’d take that precious quality time to do some exciting Canadian stuff, ice skating, skiing, hiking, bar hopping. I dunno, imagination is endless.

We have, in fact, spent the weekend eating our weight in carbs and getting friendly with Netflix. There was a half hearted trip to the ROM (Royal Ontario Museum) but we left the house too late, had a Tim’s, ambled round the Eaton Centre, and found our way back in front of Netflix quick-sharp.

ED471412-8917-4091-AB56-22FDBB0E102F

We kind of have an excuse though. You may remember me rambling a blog or two ago about ‘magical winters’ and ‘shimmering snowflakes’. Not anymore my friends, not anymore. The snow broke my wrist. The snow can suck it.

All hail Canadian healthcare though. A visit to A+E in the UK would surely mean waiting hours in a corridor before being seen by an overworked medic. I was in and out within three hours, with appointments set up for weekly x-rays to make sure everything’s healing properly. All paid for thanks to the Ontario health card.

Any other prospective Canada visa applicants, apply for your health card as soon as you’re able, it’s totally worth it.

 

 

Leave a comment